phillips, hunt, walker & hanna DUI
Attorney in Jacksonville
Do you need s a DUI attorney in Jacksonville? A DUI arrest begins two separate processes—one regarding your driver’s license with the Department of Motor Vehicles, and another within the criminal court system.
Regarding the DMV, time is of the essence as an arrest for DUI triggers a driver’s license suspension. If a person has refused the breath test, the result is a one-year suspension of their driver’s license with no opportunity to obtain a hardship license (for business purposes) until after 90 days has passed from the start of the suspension. If a person submitted to a breath test and the result was over the legal limit of .08, the driver’s license suspension is for a period of 6 months with no opportunity to get a hardship license for 30 days. In order to appeal this driver’s license suspension, one must file a Request for Formal Review with the Department of Motor Vehicles’ Bureau of Administrative Review within 10 days of the arrest. It is important to know that during this initial 10-day period, the DUI citation acts as a driver’s license for business purposes only.
A DUI is a serious offense. If you are arrested for a DUI you need to seriously consider hiring a criminal defense Attorney in Jacksonville. Contact us today!
Personal Injury and Wrongful Death Lawyer Jacksonville
phillips & hunt Results
$495+ Million Verdict
Phillips obtained one of the largest verdicts in American history of over $495+ Million dollars in the shooting death of Kalil McCoy. Her killer was also convicted in the criminal courts.Details
Jordan Davis: Wrongful Death
Represented the family of Jordan Davis and assisted with criminal prosecution of Jordan's killer, handled media relations of internationally reported case and obtained confidential maximum available civil settlement.Details
Confidential settlement of over 120 cases against a pediatric dentist who was also prosecuted. We also assisted with shutting his dental practice down. He no longer practices dentistry and was arrested.Details
We received a record $2.6 Million Jury Verdict against Volusia County. It was one of the highest ever against Volusia County. Our trial was televised on Good Morning America and reported nationally.Details
RSD / CRPS Verdict
Obtained jury verdict in Jacksonville, Florida of over $900,000 and added attorneys fees of over $250,000 on a case State Farm only offered approximately $30,000 for years.Details
$1.1 Million Verdict Against Coca-Cola
We obtained an over $1 million jury verdict against Coca-Cola in moderate impact soft tissue damages case in Gainesville, Florida. Coca-Cola failed to even offer medical bills before trial.Details
Brain Injury Medical Malpractice
Phillips obtained a confidential settlement against a chiropractor who provided prescription pain medication to a boxer in advance of an Olympic qualifying fight. She sustained a brain injury due to secondary impact syndrome.Details
$1 Million Settlement
Client's child was tragically run over and killed by a motor vehicle in her driveway. Phillips and his team settled the case for over $1 Million without the need of filing a lawsuit.Details
Over $1 Million Settlement
Cliente recibió más de $ 1 millón en accidente automovilístico. También ayudamos a clientes que hablan español. We handle cases in English, Spanish and Creole.Details
phillips, hunt, walker & hanna Formal Review Hearing
As of July 1, 2013, the Florida legislature allowed people to waive the Formal Review Hearing within the first 10-day window following their arrest. Should one elect to waive the opportunity to appeal the driver’s license suspension, that person is immediately eligible to apply for a hardship license, which may avoid the initial 30- or 90-day term for which no hardship license is otherwise available. While the 6-month and 1-year suspension still applies, the potential to have a hardship license right away can prove critical to maintaining employment and family responsibilities. In such circumstances it is important to note that the hardship license must be physically obtained prior to the expiration of the first 10 days following arrest, making it necessary to start this process as early as possible.
The decision whether to request to have the hearing or to waive it and immediately apply for a hardship license can depend on several factors. It is therefore important to consult with an experienced DUI lawyer before making any decision so that your rights are protected and an informed decision is made.
top rated Attorney Criminal Case
The other and often more important part of getting arrested for DUI is the criminal case that is prosecuted by the State Attorney’s Office. There are multiple elements which must be proven by prosecutors in order to obtain a conviction for DUI. First, prosecutors must prove that the driver was in “actual physical control” of the vehicle. It must also be proven that the driver was “under the influence,” which may be done under three different theories:
1. The person was under the influence of alcohol or a chemical or controlled substance to the extent their normal faculties are impaired;
2. The person has a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood; or
3. The person has a breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath.
A typical first-time DUI that does not involve an accident or injury to another is a second-degree misdemeanor punishable by a maximum of 6 months in county jail. Of course, this classification changes if an accident and/or injuries occurred, or if the person charged has prior DUI convictions. For example, a person who is convicted of DUI for the third time within 10 years of a previous DUI conviction commits a third-degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison. In cases of serious bodily injury or death (DUI Manslaughter), the punishment may be significant time in prison.
phillips, hunt, walker & hanna Prior Conviction
Prior convictions also require a minimum-mandatory sentence be applied should an individual suffer another DUI conviction. For instance, a second conviction for DUI that occurs within 5 years of a prior conviction carries a minimum term of 10 days in county jail. A third conviction for DUI that occurs within 10 years of a prior conviction requires a minimum sentence of 30 days in county jail.
It is a common misconception that DUI cases are simple and do not require much work to present a proper defense. To the contrary, DUI cases can involve very complex factual and legal issues, beginning with the legality of the traffic stop. As with any other criminal case, it is important to consult a criminal trial attorney with experience handling DUI cases through jury trial as soon as possible to ensure your rights are being protected. If you have been charged with DUI, contact the Law Offices of Phillips & Hunt for a free consultation to discuss your case.